Step 7 is dedicated to setting up your Auto Scheduling Rules for your workflows. These settings will determine how your automated workflows will auto-populate inside your Breezeway account.
Accessing Automated Workflows
To access automated workflows:
1. Go to the Settings in the bottom left corner and go to the Scheduling tab on the left menu.
Scheduling Days Ahead
Automated Workflows allow you to select how far in advance you would like your tasks to populate.
Timing can be adjusted by clicking the dropdown menu to the right. The schedule can be created as far as 60 days in advance.
If the timing is 30, the auto-scheduler will look out 30 days from today each day, and place the respective workflow based on the reservation event that is found (check-ins, check-outs, and turns).
If the timing is 7 days, the auto-scheduler will schedule on any events in the next 7 days. If a check-in is in 5 days and the checkout is in 10 days, we will only schedule on the check-in. The checkout will be scheduled 3 days later.
What happens if a new reservation comes in after the auto-scheduler has run?
If a new reservation is added after automated workflows has scheduled tasks, and it alters the existing schedule we will send a notification to any Admins or Supervisors that have the 'Reservation Update' notification selected. These will be important to track as the schedule changes and last-minute reservations are added.
Example: A new reservation comes in and the Check-out becomes a Turn. This will remove the Check-out/Check-in tasks since the Turn workflow will replace those.
Draft vs. Commit
Draft: Automated workflows can be drafted, which means that your staff will not receive assignment notifications until you commit the schedule.
You will have to make sure you commit the schedule in order for your team to know what they have been scheduled for the week. You can commit multiple tasks in a workflow in bulk.
Commit: Automated workflows can be committed when they are created, meaning your staff will be automatically notified of any assignment as it gets added to the schedule.
Some things to note about auto-commit:
Any default worker (if automatically assigned) will be notified immediately once the task is scheduled by the system.
The default worker will also be notified of any future task. This is determined by the timing - if the feature is set to schedule for 21 days, any default worker will receive notifications for any tasks - as far in advance as 21 days.
Assign Tasks to Default Workers
If this feature is turned 'off', all tasks will populate as unassigned. You will eventually need to both assign and commit this task for it to be carried out.
If default cleaners, inspectors, or maintenance workers should be automatically assigned to the drafts, then turn this feature 'on'. This will automatically assign the tasks to both drafted and committed tasks.
Note: Drafted tasks will still need to be committed to send out the assignments and the proper notifications.
Dynamic Scheduling: Automatically Move Workflows
If this setting is enabled, then workflows will move with changing reservations. If the check-in or checkout date of a reservation is extended or shortened, then the workflow will move based on the change.
Reservation extension: A Check-out date extends from Friday to Sunday, and creates a Turn on Sunday. The auto-scheduler will re-assess, remove the Check-out workflow (if it's different than the Turn), and schedule the Turn workflow.
Shortened reservation: The reservation shortens, and the check-in date changes from Thursday to Friday. The auto-scheduler will move the workflow's due date from Thursday to a due date of Friday. The assignees will remain the same.
Cancelled reservation: If the reservation is cancelled/removed from Breezeway, the workflow will also be cancelled. This will automatically alert the assignee (if task is not in draft).
Please keep in mind that any task changes that are made while a task is committed (not in draft), the assignee will be notified of the change automatically.